Curator

Daniel Hengst / Clemens Schöll

Daniel Hengst / Clemens Schöll

Weblinks

Daniel Hengst (*1981) and Clemens Schöll (*1994), both media artists living in Berlin, met in 2019 in the VR residency programme “creative places”.

 

Daniel Hengst works as a video artist on various theatre productions (including at the Deutsches Theater Berlin, Theater Dortmund, ACC Gwangju (South Korea), Staatsoper Kassel, Kampnagel Hamburg, Sophiensaele Berlin). In 2014 he received the Dr.-Otto-Kasten-Prize of the Deutschen Bühnenverein.

In addition, since 2015 he has been creating works in virtual reality, video and sound installations and performances, artistic research and web projects. The VR installation ‘my lonesome hologram’ was shown at the DOK Leipzig in 2016 and received a special mention at the ALife Award in Tokyo in 2018. Since 2018 he has been researching in four European countries for the project ‘Art for Landscapes’ whether and how it is possible to make art for non-human subjects. His works often deal with the society-changing potential of digital technologies – his tools are often algorithmic principles, generative processes or the targeted use of randomness. In autumn 2020 a new virtual reality work will be created in the RIXC gallery in Riga/Latvia.

 

Clemens Schöll’s mostly information technology based works range from (VR) installations to digital (net) art and performances. His artworks are experiments that question current relationships between technology and society. Through the aestheticization of complex phenomena inherent to a technological status quo or development, new approaches to supposedly inaccessible areas are generated.

He is a founding member of the Leipzig media art collective THIS IS FAKE. With this group he showed, among other exhibitions, the two VR installations ‘Vom angeblich letzten Stück Kohle’ (About the allegedly last piece of coal) and ‘Fragen zur Selbstwahrnehmung’ (Questions on self-perception) in 2017 at the Schacht Dölitz and ‘Was du willst’ (What you want) in 2018 in Untergechoss14 (Spinnereigelände Leipzig). Most recently, he developed the Wohnungsbot (presented amongst others at the 36C3) and a fully automatic puppet theatre adaptation of the software, which was shown in 2020 at the ZAK (Zitadelle Spandau) and 48 Stunden Neukölln, among others.

 

Exhibitions

Crazy Cleopatra (top) & Funky Schere (bottom) © MACHEN

Friseum

  • Open Call 1.7.-1.11.2020
  • Other
MACHEN
Fountain in the Renaissance courtyard of Museum Ulm, Foto: Judith Bahr / Museum Ulm

Kunstreichgewächse

  • Open Call Closed
  • Museum Ulm
Stefanie Dathe

POST FUTURE

  • Open Call 12.10.-30.11.2020
  • Mixed Media
  • Photography
  • Text
SALAT MAGAZIN
Javier Calvo (Costa Rica), Solo Yo, 2012 Video-performance

Mapping the Cartographic

  • Open Call 15.10.-31.12.2020
  • Conceptual Art
  • Mixed Media
  • Photography
Collective Rewilding

Join the discussion

Get notified about upcoming webinars, incoming submissions and discuss projects with our curators in the official nextmuseum.io telegram group.

t.me/nextmuseum_io

Kurator*in

Daniel Hengst / Clemens Schöll

Daniel Hengst / Clemens Schöll

Weblinks

Daniel Hengst (*1981) und Clemens Schöll (*1994), beide in Berlin lebende Medienkünstler, lernten sich 2019 im VR-Residenzprogramm „creative places“ kennen.

 

Daniel Hengst arbeitet als Videokünstler an diversen Theaterproduktionen (u.a. am Deutschen Theater Berlin, Theater Dortmund, ACC Gwangju (Südkorea), Staatsoper Kassel, Kampnagel Hamburg, Sophiensaele Berlin). Im Jahr 2014 erhielt er den Dr.-Otto-Kasten-Preis des Deutschen Bühnenvereins. Darüber hinaus entstehen seit 2015 Arbeiten in virtueller Realität, Video- und Klanginstallationen sowie -performances, künstlerische Forschungs- und Webprojekte. Die VR-Installation ‚my lonesome hologram‘ wurde 2016 beim DOK Leipzig gezeigt und erhielt 2018 eine besondere Erwähnung beim ALife Award in Tokio. Seit 2018 erforscht er in vier europäischen Ländern für das Projekt ‚Kunst für Landschaften‘ ob und wie es möglich ist, Kunst für nicht-menschliche Subjekte zu machen. Seine Arbeiten beschäftigen sich häufig mit dem gesellschaftsverändernden Potential digitaler Technologien – seine Werkzeuge sind oft algorithmische Prinzipien, generative Prozesse oder der gezielte Einsatz von Zufälligkeit. Im Herbst 2020 wird in der RIXC-Galerie in Riga/Lettland ein neues Virtual-Reality-Werk entstehen.

 

Clemens Schölls meist informationstechonologische Arbeiten spannen sich von (VR-)Installationen über digitale (Netz-)Kunst bis hin zu Performances. Seine Kunstwerke sind Experimente, welche gegenwärtige Beziehungen zwischen Technologie und Gesellschaft hinterfragen. Durch die Ästhetisierung komplexer Phänomene, die einem technologischen Status quo oder einer Entwicklung inhärent sind, werden neue Zugänge zu vermeintlich unzugänglichen Bereichen generiert.

Er ist Gründungsmitglied des Leipziger Medienkunstkollektivs THIS IS FAKE. In diesem Rahmen zeigte er unter anderem 2017 im Schacht Dölitz die beiden VR-Installationen ‚Vom angeblich letzten Stück Kohle‘ sowie ‚Fragen zur Selbstwahrnehmung‘ sowie 2018 ‚Was du willst‘ im Untergeschoss14 (Spinnereigelände Leipzig). Zuletzt entwickelte er den Wohnungsbot (u.a. präsentiert beim 36C3) sowie eine vollautomatische Puppentheater-Adaptation der Software die 2020 unter anderem im ZAK (Zitadelle Spandau) und bei 48 Stunden Neukölln gezeigt wurde.

 

Ausstellungen

Crazy Cleopatra (oben) & Funky Schere (unten) © MACHEN

Das Friseum

  • Open Call 1.7.-1.11.2020
  • Andere
MACHEN
Sandrine Deumier: „Realness – Intimate Garden“, 2019

Willkommen im Paradies

  • Open Call abgeschlossen
  • NRW-Forum Düsseldorf
Vesela Stanoeva / Alain Bieber

POST FUTURE

  • Open Call 12.10.-30.11.2020
  • Fotografie
  • Mixed Media
  • Text
SALAT MAGAZIN
Javier Calvo (Costa Rica), Solo Yo, 2012 Video-performance

Mapping the Cartographic

  • Open Call 15.10.-31.12.2020
  • Fotografie
  • Konzeptkunst
  • Mixed Media
Collective Rewilding

Diskutiere mit!

Dein News-Update: Erhalte Infos zu kommenden Online-Talks, neuen Ausstellungsprojekten und diskutiere mit uns in der nextmuseum.io-Telegram-Gruppe: