• Meetup

Meetup “The Most Beautiful Picture at My Home 2021”

6.5. 19:00
CET

Add to calendar

Taking a roaring stag or an old classic to the museum – that’s what happened in 1971 in Ulm, Germany. In its anniversary year, the Museum Ulm is taking up the idea of a participatory exhibition with favourite private works of art.

In the meetup for the open call, Dr. Stefanie Dathe (Director Museum Ulm), Dr. Martin Mäntele (Head HfG Archive Ulm) and Fried expert Dr. Thekla Zell (Curator at Museum Morsbroich and member of the Board of Trustees of the Kurt Fried Collection Foundation) talk about the Ulm art collector and publisher Kurt Fried, his non-commercial gallery “studio f”, where he regularly exhibited progressive art, and the extraordinary exhibition “The Most Beautiful Picture at My Home”.

Fifty years ago, when participation and interaction did not yet play a role in the exhibition business, Kurt Fried showed private favourite artworks of Ulmer:innen who had answered his call in the “studio f” (at that time already in the Wielandgalerie in Frauenstraße). In 2021, the Museum Ulm transfers Fried’s idea into the present with nextmuseum.io: everyone can submit their favourite artwork from their own four walls online for the exhibition from 24.7.-24.10.2021 in the Museum Ulm.

In the meetup, the experts not only provide the art-historical context, they also talk about cultural-political developments and discuss together why and with which art people surround themselves in private, what hangs in the museum and where art ends and decoration begins.

 

Participate

Curator

Stefanie Dathe
Stefanie Dathe

Taking a roaring stag or an old classic to the museum – that’s what happened in 1971 in Ulm, Germany. In its anniversary year, the Museum Ulm is taking up the idea of a participatory exhibition with favourite private works of art.

In the meetup for the open call, Dr. Stefanie Dathe (Director Museum Ulm), Dr. Martin Mäntele (Head HfG Archive Ulm) and Fried expert Dr. Thekla Zell (Curator at Museum Morsbroich and member of the Board of Trustees of the Kurt Fried Collection Foundation) talk about the Ulm art collector and publisher Kurt Fried, his non-commercial gallery “studio f”, where he regularly exhibited progressive art, and the extraordinary exhibition “The Most Beautiful Picture at My Home”.

Fifty years ago, when participation and interaction did not yet play a role in the exhibition business, Kurt Fried showed private favourite artworks of Ulmer:innen who had answered his call in the “studio f” (at that time already in the Wielandgalerie in Frauenstraße). In 2021, the Museum Ulm transfers Fried’s idea into the present with nextmuseum.io: everyone can submit their favourite artwork from their own four walls online for the exhibition from 24.7.-24.10.2021 in the Museum Ulm.

In the meetup, the experts not only provide the art-historical context, they also talk about cultural-political developments and discuss together why and with which art people surround themselves in private, what hangs in the museum and where art ends and decoration begins.

 

Join the discussion

Get notified about upcoming webinars, incoming submissions and discuss projects with our curators in the official nextmuseum.io telegram group.

t.me/nextmuseum_io

• Meetup

Meetup „Das schönste Bild bei mir zuhaus 2021“

6.5. 19:00
CET

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Mit dem röhrenden Hirsch oder alten Schinken ins Museum – so geschehen im Jahr 1971. Im Jubiläumsjahr greift das Museum Ulm die Idee einer Mitmach-Ausstellung mit privaten Lieblingskunstwerken auf.

Im Meetup zum Open Call sprechen Dr. Stefanie Dathe (Direktorin Museum Ulm), Dr. Martin Mäntele (Leiter HfG-Archiv Ulm) und Fried-Expertin Dr. Thekla Zell (Kuratorin am Museum Morsbroich und Kuratoriums-Mitglied der Stiftung Sammlung Kurt Fried) über den Ulmer Kunstsammler und Verleger Kurt Fried, seine nicht-kommerzielle Galerie „studio f“, in der er regelmäßig progressive Kunst ausstellte, und die außergewöhnliche Ausstellung „Das schönste Bild bei mir zuhaus“.

Vor 50 Jahren, als Partizipation und Interaktion im Ausstellungswesen noch keine Rolle spielten, zeigte Kurt Fried im „studio f“ (damals bereits in der Wielandgalerie in der Frauenstraße) private Lieblingskunstwerke von Ulmer:innen, die seinem Aufruf gefolgt waren. 2021 transferiert das Museum Ulm Frieds Idee mit nextmuseum.io in die Gegenwart: Jede:r kann online ihr/sein Lieblingskunstwerk aus den eigenen vier Wänden für die Ausstellung vom 24.7.-24.10.2021 im Museum Ulm einreichen.

Die Expert:innen liefern im Meetup nicht nur den kunsthistorischen Kontext, sie sprechen auch über kulturpolitische Entwicklungen und diskutieren gemeinsam warum und mit welcher Kunst sich Menschen im Privaten umgeben, was im Museum hängt und wo Kunst aufhört und Deko anfängt.

Sei dabei!

Kurator*in

Stefanie Dathe
Stefanie Dathe

Mit dem röhrenden Hirsch oder alten Schinken ins Museum – so geschehen im Jahr 1971. Im Jubiläumsjahr greift das Museum Ulm die Idee einer Mitmach-Ausstellung mit privaten Lieblingskunstwerken auf.

Im Meetup zum Open Call sprechen Dr. Stefanie Dathe (Direktorin Museum Ulm), Dr. Martin Mäntele (Leiter HfG-Archiv Ulm) und Fried-Expertin Dr. Thekla Zell (Kuratorin am Museum Morsbroich und Kuratoriums-Mitglied der Stiftung Sammlung Kurt Fried) über den Ulmer Kunstsammler und Verleger Kurt Fried, seine nicht-kommerzielle Galerie „studio f“, in der er regelmäßig progressive Kunst ausstellte, und die außergewöhnliche Ausstellung „Das schönste Bild bei mir zuhaus“.

Vor 50 Jahren, als Partizipation und Interaktion im Ausstellungswesen noch keine Rolle spielten, zeigte Kurt Fried im „studio f“ (damals bereits in der Wielandgalerie in der Frauenstraße) private Lieblingskunstwerke von Ulmer:innen, die seinem Aufruf gefolgt waren. 2021 transferiert das Museum Ulm Frieds Idee mit nextmuseum.io in die Gegenwart: Jede:r kann online ihr/sein Lieblingskunstwerk aus den eigenen vier Wänden für die Ausstellung vom 24.7.-24.10.2021 im Museum Ulm einreichen.

Die Expert:innen liefern im Meetup nicht nur den kunsthistorischen Kontext, sie sprechen auch über kulturpolitische Entwicklungen und diskutieren gemeinsam warum und mit welcher Kunst sich Menschen im Privaten umgeben, was im Museum hängt und wo Kunst aufhört und Deko anfängt.

Diskutiere mit!

Dein News-Update: Erhalte Infos zu kommenden Online-Talks, neuen Ausstellungsprojekten und diskutiere mit uns in der nextmuseum.io-Telegram-Gruppe: