• Talk

Tino Sehgal, Marcela Sabino & Caitlin Southwick – Practicing Sustainability

25.2. 18:00
CET

Add to calendar

Practicing Sustainability 

Thinking about the museum of the future, sustainability certainly plays a big part. The awareness is present, but what can museums actually do to act sustainably? Should the quality of art be evaluated according to the criterion of environmental compatibility? What are the risks and chances of using emerging technologies in arts and culture with regard to climate change? These and other questions will be discussed with our speakers. The talk will be held in English. Users can participate live via crowdcast, ask questions and join in the discussion.

Tino Sehgal, Artist and Co-Curator “Down to Earth” at Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin

Tino Sehgal was born in London in 1976 and studied Economics and Dance in Berlin and Essen. He curated „een keuze uit de collectie door tino sehgal“ (Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2006), „Felix Gonzalez-Torres. Specific Objects without Specific Form“ (MMK, Frankfurt, 2011), „Mayfield Depot“ (Manchester International Festival, 2013), „Décor“ (Villa Empain, Brüssel, 2016), „A Prelude to The Shed“ (New York, 2018) and “Welt ohne Außen” (Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin, 2018), among others.

Marcela Sabino, Museum of Tomorrow, Rio de Janeiro

Marcela Sabino is a foresight strategist, creative director, and innovation designer with over 16 years of experience in areas such as Emerging Technologies, Art and Culture and International Development, focusing on designing future-forward strategies and implementing impactful multi-stakeholder initiatives. She is passionate about prototyping a more social and sustainable future using high and low tech in a transdisciplinary way. She is the Head of Innovation for the Museum of Tomorrow and has worked as its Lab Director for over five years.

Caitlin Southwick, Executive Director at Ki Culture

Caitlin Southwick is the Founder and Executive Director of Ki Culture and Sustainability in Conservation. She is a trained art conservator and has worked in the conservation field and in museums around the world, including the Vatican Museums, The Getty Conservation Institute, and Easter Island. She is the Secretary of the Working Group on Sustainability for the International Council of Museums (ICOM).

Participate

Practicing Sustainability 

Thinking about the museum of the future, sustainability certainly plays a big part. The awareness is present, but what can museums actually do to act sustainably? Should the quality of art be evaluated according to the criterion of environmental compatibility? What are the risks and chances of using emerging technologies in arts and culture with regard to climate change? These and other questions will be discussed with our speakers. The talk will be held in English. Users can participate live via crowdcast, ask questions and join in the discussion.

Tino Sehgal, Artist and Co-Curator “Down to Earth” at Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin

Tino Sehgal was born in London in 1976 and studied Economics and Dance in Berlin and Essen. He curated „een keuze uit de collectie door tino sehgal“ (Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2006), „Felix Gonzalez-Torres. Specific Objects without Specific Form“ (MMK, Frankfurt, 2011), „Mayfield Depot“ (Manchester International Festival, 2013), „Décor“ (Villa Empain, Brüssel, 2016), „A Prelude to The Shed“ (New York, 2018) and “Welt ohne Außen” (Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin, 2018), among others.

Marcela Sabino, Museum of Tomorrow, Rio de Janeiro

Marcela Sabino is a foresight strategist, creative director, and innovation designer with over 16 years of experience in areas such as Emerging Technologies, Art and Culture and International Development, focusing on designing future-forward strategies and implementing impactful multi-stakeholder initiatives. She is passionate about prototyping a more social and sustainable future using high and low tech in a transdisciplinary way. She is the Head of Innovation for the Museum of Tomorrow and has worked as its Lab Director for over five years.

Caitlin Southwick, Executive Director at Ki Culture

Caitlin Southwick is the Founder and Executive Director of Ki Culture and Sustainability in Conservation. She is a trained art conservator and has worked in the conservation field and in museums around the world, including the Vatican Museums, The Getty Conservation Institute, and Easter Island. She is the Secretary of the Working Group on Sustainability for the International Council of Museums (ICOM).

Join the discussion

Get notified about upcoming webinars, incoming submissions and discuss projects with our curators in the official nextmuseum.io telegram group.

t.me/nextmuseum_io

• Talk

Tino Sehgal, Marcela Sabino & Caitlin Southwick – Practicing Sustainability

25.2. 18:00
CET

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Practicing Sustainability

Wenn man über das Museum der Zukunft nachdenkt, spielt Nachhaltigkeit sicherlich eine große Rolle. Das Bewusstsein ist vorhanden, aber was können Museen tatsächlich tun, um nachhaltig zu handeln? Sollte die Qualität von Kunst künftig nach dem Kriterium der Umweltverträglichkeit bewertet werden? Was sind die Risiken und Chancen des Einsatzes neuer Technologien in Kunst und Kultur im Hinblick auf den Klimawandel? Diese und weitere Fragen werden wir mit unseren Speaker*innen diskutieren. Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten. Interessierte können live per Crowdcast teilnehmen, Fragen stellen und mitdiskutieren.

Tino Sehgal, Künstler und Co-Kurator „Down to Earth“ im Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin

Tino Sehgal wurde 1976 in London geboren und studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre sowie Tanz in Berlin und Essen. Er kuratierte unter anderem „een keuze uit de collectie door tino sehgal“ (Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2006), „Felix Gonzalez-Torres. Specific Objects without Specific Form“ (Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt, 2011), „Mayfield Depot“ (Manchester International Festival, 2013), „Décor“ (Villa Empain, Brüssel, 2016), „A Prelude to The Shed“ (New York, 2018) und „Welt ohne Außen“ (Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin, 2018).

Marcela Sabino, Museum of Tomorrow, Rio de Janeiro

Marcela Sabino ist Foresight-Strategin, Kreativdirektorin und Innovationsdesignerin mit mehr als 16 Jahren Erfahrung in Bereichen wie aufstrebende Technologien, Kunst und Kultur sowie internationale Entwicklung. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Gestaltung von Zukunftsstrategien und der Umsetzung wirkungsvoller Multi-Stakeholder-Initiativen. Ihre Leidenschaft ist die Entwicklung von Prototypen für eine sozialere und nachhaltigere Zukunft unter Verwendung von High und Low Tech in einer transdisziplinären Weise. Sie ist die Leiterin der Innovationsabteilung des Museum of Tomorrow und arbeitet seit über fünf Jahren als dessen Laborleiterin.

Caitlin Southwick, Geschäftsführerin bei Ki Culture

Caitlin Southwick ist die Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin von Ki Culture und Sustainability in Conservation. Sie ist ausgebildete Kunstrestauratorin und hat im Bereich der Konservierung und in Museen auf der ganzen Welt gearbeitet, darunter die Vatikanischen Museen, das Getty Conservation Institute und die Osterinsel. Sie ist Sekretärin der Arbeitsgruppe für Nachhaltigkeit des Internationalen Museumsrats (ICOM).

 

Sei dabei!

Practicing Sustainability

Wenn man über das Museum der Zukunft nachdenkt, spielt Nachhaltigkeit sicherlich eine große Rolle. Das Bewusstsein ist vorhanden, aber was können Museen tatsächlich tun, um nachhaltig zu handeln? Sollte die Qualität von Kunst künftig nach dem Kriterium der Umweltverträglichkeit bewertet werden? Was sind die Risiken und Chancen des Einsatzes neuer Technologien in Kunst und Kultur im Hinblick auf den Klimawandel? Diese und weitere Fragen werden wir mit unseren Speaker*innen diskutieren. Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten. Interessierte können live per Crowdcast teilnehmen, Fragen stellen und mitdiskutieren.

Tino Sehgal, Künstler und Co-Kurator „Down to Earth“ im Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin

Tino Sehgal wurde 1976 in London geboren und studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre sowie Tanz in Berlin und Essen. Er kuratierte unter anderem „een keuze uit de collectie door tino sehgal“ (Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, 2006), „Felix Gonzalez-Torres. Specific Objects without Specific Form“ (Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt, 2011), „Mayfield Depot“ (Manchester International Festival, 2013), „Décor“ (Villa Empain, Brüssel, 2016), „A Prelude to The Shed“ (New York, 2018) und „Welt ohne Außen“ (Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin, 2018).

Marcela Sabino, Museum of Tomorrow, Rio de Janeiro

Marcela Sabino ist Foresight-Strategin, Kreativdirektorin und Innovationsdesignerin mit mehr als 16 Jahren Erfahrung in Bereichen wie aufstrebende Technologien, Kunst und Kultur sowie internationale Entwicklung. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Gestaltung von Zukunftsstrategien und der Umsetzung wirkungsvoller Multi-Stakeholder-Initiativen. Ihre Leidenschaft ist die Entwicklung von Prototypen für eine sozialere und nachhaltigere Zukunft unter Verwendung von High und Low Tech in einer transdisziplinären Weise. Sie ist die Leiterin der Innovationsabteilung des Museum of Tomorrow und arbeitet seit über fünf Jahren als dessen Laborleiterin.

Caitlin Southwick, Geschäftsführerin bei Ki Culture

Caitlin Southwick ist die Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin von Ki Culture und Sustainability in Conservation. Sie ist ausgebildete Kunstrestauratorin und hat im Bereich der Konservierung und in Museen auf der ganzen Welt gearbeitet, darunter die Vatikanischen Museen, das Getty Conservation Institute und die Osterinsel. Sie ist Sekretärin der Arbeitsgruppe für Nachhaltigkeit des Internationalen Museumsrats (ICOM).

 

Diskutiere mit!

Dein News-Update: Erhalte Infos zu kommenden Online-Talks, neuen Ausstellungsprojekten und diskutiere mit uns in der nextmuseum.io-Telegram-Gruppe: