• Talk

Yilmaz Dziewior & Nana Oforiatta Ayim – Rethinking the exhibition

6.10. 16:00
CET

Add to calendar

How will exhibitions look like in the future? How is the work and the remit of museums changing? What role do curators and visitors play? What drives this rethinking process, what are the chances and risks? These and other interesting questions will be discussed online with Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior and Nana Oforiatta Ayim.
The talk will be held in English. Users can participate live via crowdcast, ask questions and join in the discussion. The participation is free of charge, a pre-registration is mandatory.

Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior is art historian, current Director of Museum Ludwig Cologne and curator of the German Pavilion for the upcoming Vennice Art Biennale (postponed to 2022 due to the Covid-19 pandemic).
Under his direction, Museum Ludwig is taking a new look at its own collection with the current exhibition “Mapping the Collection” and critically questioning the Western European-influenced conception and reception of American art history. To this end, works from the collection are presented together with other works by female, queer, indigenous artists and artists of color.

Nana Oforiatta Ayim is a Ghanaian writer, art historian and filmmaker and Director of the ANO Institute of Arts and Knowledge in Accra, Ghana. She curated Ghana’s first-ever national pavilion for the Venice Biennale 2019.
With her ANO Institute, Nana Oforiatta Ayim researches and works on the narrative of African cultural history (The Cultural Encyclopaedia) and develops new exhibition concepts such as the Kiosk Museum or Mobile Museums, which are created in and by African communities themselves, thus creating a local discourse on narrative, cultural memory and value.
Nana Oforiatta Ayim has received numerous awards (including the Arts & Technology Award from LACMA, 2015) and is considered one of Africa’s most important young voices (Apollo 40 under 40, One of 50 African Trailblaizers, The Africa Report). In 2019 she spoke at TEDxEuston.

Participate

How will exhibitions look like in the future? How is the work and the remit of museums changing? What role do curators and visitors play? What drives this rethinking process, what are the chances and risks? These and other interesting questions will be discussed online with Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior and Nana Oforiatta Ayim.
The talk will be held in English. Users can participate live via crowdcast, ask questions and join in the discussion. The participation is free of charge, a pre-registration is mandatory.

Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior is art historian, current Director of Museum Ludwig Cologne and curator of the German Pavilion for the upcoming Vennice Art Biennale (postponed to 2022 due to the Covid-19 pandemic).
Under his direction, Museum Ludwig is taking a new look at its own collection with the current exhibition “Mapping the Collection” and critically questioning the Western European-influenced conception and reception of American art history. To this end, works from the collection are presented together with other works by female, queer, indigenous artists and artists of color.

Nana Oforiatta Ayim is a Ghanaian writer, art historian and filmmaker and Director of the ANO Institute of Arts and Knowledge in Accra, Ghana. She curated Ghana’s first-ever national pavilion for the Venice Biennale 2019.
With her ANO Institute, Nana Oforiatta Ayim researches and works on the narrative of African cultural history (The Cultural Encyclopaedia) and develops new exhibition concepts such as the Kiosk Museum or Mobile Museums, which are created in and by African communities themselves, thus creating a local discourse on narrative, cultural memory and value.
Nana Oforiatta Ayim has received numerous awards (including the Arts & Technology Award from LACMA, 2015) and is considered one of Africa’s most important young voices (Apollo 40 under 40, One of 50 African Trailblaizers, The Africa Report). In 2019 she spoke at TEDxEuston.

Join the discussion

Get notified about upcoming webinars, incoming submissions and discuss projects with our curators in the official nextmuseum.io telegram group.

t.me/nextmuseum_io

• Talk

Yilmaz Dziewior & Nana Oforiatta Ayim – Rethinking the exhibition

6.10. 16:00
CET

Add to calendar

Wie sieht Ausstellen in der Zukunft aus? Wie verändern sich Arbeit und Aufgabe von Museen? Welche Rolle spielen Kurator*innen, welche Besucher*innen? Welche Treiber, Chancen und Risiken beeinflussen den (Um-)Denkprozess? Diese und andere spannende Fragen diskutieren wir mit Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior und Nana Oforiatta Ayim online.
Der Talk findet in englischer Sprache statt. User*innen können via Crowdcast live dabei sein, Fragen stellen und mitdiskutieren. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos, eine Registrierung vorab notwendig.

Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior ist Kunsthistoriker, amtierender Direktor des Museum Ludwig in Köln und Kurator des Deutschen Pavillon der kommenden Kunstbiennale in Venedig (aufgrund der Covid-19 Pandemie von 2021 auf 2022 verschoben).
Unter seiner Leitung wirft das Museum Ludwig mit der aktuellen Ausstellung „Mapping the Collection“ einen neuen Blick auf die eigene Sammlung und hinterfragt die wes­teu­ropäisch geprägte Vorstel­lung und Rezep­tion US-amerikanisch­er Kun­st­geschichte kri­tisch. Hierfür werden Arbeiten aus dem Sammlungsbestand zusammen mit weiteren Kunstwerken von wei­blichen, queeren, in­di­ge­nen Kün­stler*in­nen sowie artists of col­or präsentiert.

Nana Oforiatta Ayim arbeitet als Autorin, Kunsthistorikerin und Filmproduzentin und ist Direktorin des ANO Institute of Arts and Knowledge in Accra, Ghana. Sie kuratierte den ersten Länderpavillon Ghanas für die Biennale in Venedig 2019.
Mit ihrem ANO Institute forscht und arbeitet Nana Oforiatta Ayim am Narrativ afrikanischer Kulturgeschichte (The Cultural Encyclopaedia) und entwickelt neue Ausstellungskonzepte wie z.B. das Kiosk Museum oder Mobile Museums, die in und von afrikanischen Gemeinden selbst bestückt werden und so vor Ort einen Diskurs zu Narrativ, kulturellem Gedächtnis und Wert entstehen lassen.
Nana Oforiatta Ayim wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet (u.a. mit dem Arts & Technology Award, LACMA, 2015) und gilt als eine der wichtigsten jungen Stimmen Afrikas (Apollo 40 under 40, One of 50 African Trailblaizers, The Africa Report). 2019 sprach sie bei TEDxEuston.

 

 

Sei dabei!

Wie sieht Ausstellen in der Zukunft aus? Wie verändern sich Arbeit und Aufgabe von Museen? Welche Rolle spielen Kurator*innen, welche Besucher*innen? Welche Treiber, Chancen und Risiken beeinflussen den (Um-)Denkprozess? Diese und andere spannende Fragen diskutieren wir mit Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior und Nana Oforiatta Ayim online.
Der Talk findet in englischer Sprache statt. User*innen können via Crowdcast live dabei sein, Fragen stellen und mitdiskutieren. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos, eine Registrierung vorab notwendig.

Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior ist Kunsthistoriker, amtierender Direktor des Museum Ludwig in Köln und Kurator des Deutschen Pavillon der kommenden Kunstbiennale in Venedig (aufgrund der Covid-19 Pandemie von 2021 auf 2022 verschoben).
Unter seiner Leitung wirft das Museum Ludwig mit der aktuellen Ausstellung „Mapping the Collection“ einen neuen Blick auf die eigene Sammlung und hinterfragt die wes­teu­ropäisch geprägte Vorstel­lung und Rezep­tion US-amerikanisch­er Kun­st­geschichte kri­tisch. Hierfür werden Arbeiten aus dem Sammlungsbestand zusammen mit weiteren Kunstwerken von wei­blichen, queeren, in­di­ge­nen Kün­stler*in­nen sowie artists of col­or präsentiert.

Nana Oforiatta Ayim arbeitet als Autorin, Kunsthistorikerin und Filmproduzentin und ist Direktorin des ANO Institute of Arts and Knowledge in Accra, Ghana. Sie kuratierte den ersten Länderpavillon Ghanas für die Biennale in Venedig 2019.
Mit ihrem ANO Institute forscht und arbeitet Nana Oforiatta Ayim am Narrativ afrikanischer Kulturgeschichte (The Cultural Encyclopaedia) und entwickelt neue Ausstellungskonzepte wie z.B. das Kiosk Museum oder Mobile Museums, die in und von afrikanischen Gemeinden selbst bestückt werden und so vor Ort einen Diskurs zu Narrativ, kulturellem Gedächtnis und Wert entstehen lassen.
Nana Oforiatta Ayim wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet (u.a. mit dem Arts & Technology Award, LACMA, 2015) und gilt als eine der wichtigsten jungen Stimmen Afrikas (Apollo 40 under 40, One of 50 African Trailblaizers, The Africa Report). 2019 sprach sie bei TEDxEuston.

 

 

Diskutiere mit!

Dein News-Update: Erhalte Infos zu kommenden Online-Talks, neuen Ausstellungsprojekten und diskutiere mit uns in der nextmuseum.io-Telegram-Gruppe: