Jimmie Durham, Painted Self-Portrait, 2007, acrylic and sharpie on color photo, 83.5 x 61 cm, Courtesy Christine König Galerie, Vienna
  • Exhibition

Eurotopia. What is your Europe?

  • Final selection online
  • Other
  • Photography
Image: Jimmie Durham, Painted Self-Portrait, 2007, acrylic and sharpie on color photo, 83.5 x 61 cm, Courtesy Christine König Galerie, Vienna

The Open Call “Eurotopia” is an integral component to our upcoming exhibition “Europe: Ancient Future”, curated by Sandro Droschl set to open the newly formed HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark in April 2021.

“Europe: Ancient Future” presents an extensive selection of international contemporary positions that focus on the history of ideas, myths, values and ruptures of a – currently rather reserved – united Europe, which is being examined beyond its economic and political developments as a hotly debated cultural-historical project with utopian potential.

Evoking the political philosopher Danielle Allen, we would like to ask: who has power and, based on which institutional structures, resources and possibilities? Could it be that in recent decades, in the shadow of an abstract liberal ideal of equality, we have forgotten how to see the concrete power relations and inequalities of our societies – and have therefore been relatively unprepared for the new economic upheavals and right-wing populist mobilizations?

Allen develops a new understanding of political equality for societies of great social and cultural diversity. The starting point for her analysis is the relationship between negative and positive rights. In contrast to the influential liberal theory à la Rawls, Allen argues that both should be given equal importance – and thus arrives at a theory of justice based on the principle of “difference without domination”. In light of this principle, problems of social cohesion within Europe can be productively addressed. Genuine political equality, according to Allen, can only be realized in democratic societies with strong social ties. To achieve this, differences must be endured and new cultures of interaction must be established.

The Open Call invites artists, and thinkers to acknowledge the cultural assemblage of a European living reality, and to imagine a utopia that allows for a multitude of perspectives.

We ask for your thoughts and artworks to further unpack, question or strengthen the transnational connections that are a defining feature of contemporary Europe. This Open Call probes the political and social significance of a pluralistic society and makes a case for incorporating transnationalism more systematically into the future imagination of Europe.

With their project “nextmuseum.io”, the Museum Ulm and the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf are exploring the question of how digital means can be used to make more democracy in the art world possible. The questioning of institutional work by nextmuseum.io thus reflects the themes of the exhibition “Europe: Ancient Future” exhibition: What should the museum of the future look like? What should the Europe of the future look like?

With nextmuseum.io, the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf and the Museum Ulm have developed a digital platform on which curators, artists and institutions, as well as visitors and all those interested can participate in the conception of exhibitions. The cross-institutional platform nextmuseum.io invites you to actively participate in shaping cultural spaces and to create new ways of participation and empowerment. The methodology strongly resonates with the deep-seated interest in the further development and new emphasis on democracy, the central theme of the exhibition “Europe: Ancient Future”.

We kindly ask you to submit works that allow us to see a variety of European Futures: What is your Europe? Is it a utopia or reality? Where do you see yourself represented?

All contributions will be accessible online via the platform nextmuseum.io and via the HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark website and in the foyer of the institution. Selected pieces will be highlighted through an inhouse event and, if possible, discussed with protagonists who will be invited to Graz.

The submissions will be reviewed editorially and only then put online. The editorial team reserves the right to disregard unsuitable contributions without giving reasons.

 

Participate

The Open Call “Eurotopia” is an integral component to our upcoming exhibition “Europe: Ancient Future”, curated by Sandro Droschl set to open the newly formed HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark in April 2021.

“Europe: Ancient Future” presents an extensive selection of international contemporary positions that focus on the history of ideas, myths, values and ruptures of a – currently rather reserved – united Europe, which is being examined beyond its economic and political developments as a hotly debated cultural-historical project with utopian potential.

Evoking the political philosopher Danielle Allen, we would like to ask: who has power and, based on which institutional structures, resources and possibilities? Could it be that in recent decades, in the shadow of an abstract liberal ideal of equality, we have forgotten how to see the concrete power relations and inequalities of our societies – and have therefore been relatively unprepared for the new economic upheavals and right-wing populist mobilizations?

Allen develops a new understanding of political equality for societies of great social and cultural diversity. The starting point for her analysis is the relationship between negative and positive rights. In contrast to the influential liberal theory à la Rawls, Allen argues that both should be given equal importance – and thus arrives at a theory of justice based on the principle of “difference without domination”. In light of this principle, problems of social cohesion within Europe can be productively addressed. Genuine political equality, according to Allen, can only be realized in democratic societies with strong social ties. To achieve this, differences must be endured and new cultures of interaction must be established.

The Open Call invites artists, and thinkers to acknowledge the cultural assemblage of a European living reality, and to imagine a utopia that allows for a multitude of perspectives.

We ask for your thoughts and artworks to further unpack, question or strengthen the transnational connections that are a defining feature of contemporary Europe. This Open Call probes the political and social significance of a pluralistic society and makes a case for incorporating transnationalism more systematically into the future imagination of Europe.

With their project “nextmuseum.io”, the Museum Ulm and the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf are exploring the question of how digital means can be used to make more democracy in the art world possible. The questioning of institutional work by nextmuseum.io thus reflects the themes of the exhibition “Europe: Ancient Future” exhibition: What should the museum of the future look like? What should the Europe of the future look like?

With nextmuseum.io, the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf and the Museum Ulm have developed a digital platform on which curators, artists and institutions, as well as visitors and all those interested can participate in the conception of exhibitions. The cross-institutional platform nextmuseum.io invites you to actively participate in shaping cultural spaces and to create new ways of participation and empowerment. The methodology strongly resonates with the deep-seated interest in the further development and new emphasis on democracy, the central theme of the exhibition “Europe: Ancient Future”.

We kindly ask you to submit works that allow us to see a variety of European Futures: What is your Europe? Is it a utopia or reality? Where do you see yourself represented?

All contributions will be accessible online via the platform nextmuseum.io and via the HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark website and in the foyer of the institution. Selected pieces will be highlighted through an inhouse event and, if possible, discussed with protagonists who will be invited to Graz.

The submissions will be reviewed editorially and only then put online. The editorial team reserves the right to disregard unsuitable contributions without giving reasons.

 

Submissions

Join the discussion

Get notified about upcoming webinars, incoming submissions and discuss projects with our curators in the official nextmuseum.io telegram group.

t.me/nextmuseum_io

Jimmie Durham, Painted Self-Portrait, 2007, Acryl und Edding auf Farbfoto, 83,5 x 61 cm, Courtesy Christine König Galerie, Wien
  • Ausstellung

Eurotopia. Was ist Dein Europa?

  • Andere
  • Fotografie
  • Text
Bild: Jimmie Durham, Painted Self-Portrait, 2007, Acryl und Edding auf Farbfoto, 83,5 x 61 cm, Courtesy Christine König Galerie, Wien

Der Open Call Eurotopia. Was ist Dein Europa? ist eine Weiterführung der von Sandro Droschl kuratierten Ausstellung „Europa. Antike Zukunft“, die am 22. April 2021 in der neu gegründeten HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark eröffnet.

„Europa. Antike Zukunft“ präsentiert eine umfangreiche Auswahl internationaler zeitgenössischer Positionen, die sich mit der Ideengeschichte, den Mythen, Werten und Brüchen eines – derzeit eher zurückhaltenden – vereinten Europas auseinandersetzen, das über seine wirtschaftlichen und politischen Entwicklungen hinaus als kulturhistorisches Projekt mit utopischem Potenzial heiß diskutiert wird.

In der Auseinandersetzung mit den philosophischen Grundpfeilern der europäischen Idee innerhalb der Ausstellung gibt das umfangreiche Werk des griechischen Universalgelehrten Aristoteles einen wichtigen Impuls. Sein egalitärer Zugang zur Gesellschaft, der die Autonomie des Einzelnen in Balance zur Gemeinschaft denkt, erfährt jüngst neue Aufmerksamkeit: In ihrer auf den Begriff der herrschaftsfreien Egalität aufbauenden Rezeption „Politische Gleichheit“ (2020) fordert die US-amerikanische Politikwissenschaftlerin Danielle Allen eine aktualisierte Fassung von Demokratie, ein ausgeglichenes Zusammenleben von Individuen in einer Gesellschaft jenseits eines nationalstaatlichen Denkens.

In Anlehnung möchten wir fragen: Wer hat Macht und auf welchen institutionellen Strukturen, Ressourcen und Möglichkeiten beruht diese? Könnte es sein, dass wir in den letzten Jahrzehnten im Schatten eines abstrakten liberalen Gleichheitsideals vergessen haben, wie die konkreten Machtverhältnisse und Ungleichheiten in unseren Gesellschaften zu sehen sind – und deshalb relativ unvorbereitet auf die neuen wirtschaftlichen Umwälzungen und rechtspopulistischen Mobilisierungen waren?

Allen entwickelt ein neues Verständnis von politischer Gleichheit für Gesellschaften mit großer sozialer und kultureller Vielfalt. Ausgangspunkt ihrer Analyse ist die Beziehung zwischen negativen und positiven Rechten. Im Gegensatz zur einflussreichen liberalen Theorie à la John Rawls argumentiert Allen, dass beiden die gleiche Bedeutung beigemessen werden sollte – und gelangt so zu einer Theorie der Gerechtigkeit, die auf dem Prinzip der „Differenz ohne Herrschaft“ beruht. Im Lichte dieses Prinzips können Probleme des sozialen Zusammenhalts innerhalb Europas produktiv angegangen werden.

In diesem Sinne lädt der Open Call Künstler_innen ein, die kulturelle Zusammensetzung einer europäischen Lebenswirklichkeit anzuerkennen und sich eine Utopie für Europa, die eine Vielzahl von Perspektiven zulässt vorzustellen. Wir bitten um Ihre Gedanken und künstlerischen Beiträge, mit dem Fokus die transnationalen Verbindungen, die ein prägendes Merkmal des heutigen Europas sind, weiter zu betonen, zu hinterfragen oder zu stärken. Der Open Call will die politische und soziale Bedeutung einer pluralistischen Gesellschaft neu ausloten und plädiert dafür, den Transnationalismus systematischer in die Zukunftsvorstellung Europas einzubeziehen. Die Beiträge sollen eine Vielfalt europäischer Utopien sichtbar machen: Was ist Dein Europa? Ist es eine Utopie oder Realität? Wo siehst Du dich selbst vertreten?

Für eine Veröffentlichung sind die inhaltliche Relevanz sowie die digitale Qualität für die digitale Verwertbarkeit Voraussetzung. Alle Beiträge werden über die Plattform nextmuseum.io und über die HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark-Website sowie im Foyer der Institution online zugänglich sein. Im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung werden ausgewählte Beiträge vorgestellt und nach Möglichkeit mit Protagonisten_innen, die nach Graz eingeladen werden diskutiert.

Die Einreichungen werden redaktionell gesichtet und erst danach online gestellt. Das Redaktionsteam behält sich vor nicht passende Beiträge ohne Begründung nicht zu berücksichtigen.

Sei dabei!

Der Open Call Eurotopia. Was ist Dein Europa? ist eine Weiterführung der von Sandro Droschl kuratierten Ausstellung „Europa. Antike Zukunft“, die am 22. April 2021 in der neu gegründeten HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark eröffnet.

„Europa. Antike Zukunft“ präsentiert eine umfangreiche Auswahl internationaler zeitgenössischer Positionen, die sich mit der Ideengeschichte, den Mythen, Werten und Brüchen eines – derzeit eher zurückhaltenden – vereinten Europas auseinandersetzen, das über seine wirtschaftlichen und politischen Entwicklungen hinaus als kulturhistorisches Projekt mit utopischem Potenzial heiß diskutiert wird.

In der Auseinandersetzung mit den philosophischen Grundpfeilern der europäischen Idee innerhalb der Ausstellung gibt das umfangreiche Werk des griechischen Universalgelehrten Aristoteles einen wichtigen Impuls. Sein egalitärer Zugang zur Gesellschaft, der die Autonomie des Einzelnen in Balance zur Gemeinschaft denkt, erfährt jüngst neue Aufmerksamkeit: In ihrer auf den Begriff der herrschaftsfreien Egalität aufbauenden Rezeption „Politische Gleichheit“ (2020) fordert die US-amerikanische Politikwissenschaftlerin Danielle Allen eine aktualisierte Fassung von Demokratie, ein ausgeglichenes Zusammenleben von Individuen in einer Gesellschaft jenseits eines nationalstaatlichen Denkens.

In Anlehnung möchten wir fragen: Wer hat Macht und auf welchen institutionellen Strukturen, Ressourcen und Möglichkeiten beruht diese? Könnte es sein, dass wir in den letzten Jahrzehnten im Schatten eines abstrakten liberalen Gleichheitsideals vergessen haben, wie die konkreten Machtverhältnisse und Ungleichheiten in unseren Gesellschaften zu sehen sind – und deshalb relativ unvorbereitet auf die neuen wirtschaftlichen Umwälzungen und rechtspopulistischen Mobilisierungen waren?

Allen entwickelt ein neues Verständnis von politischer Gleichheit für Gesellschaften mit großer sozialer und kultureller Vielfalt. Ausgangspunkt ihrer Analyse ist die Beziehung zwischen negativen und positiven Rechten. Im Gegensatz zur einflussreichen liberalen Theorie à la John Rawls argumentiert Allen, dass beiden die gleiche Bedeutung beigemessen werden sollte – und gelangt so zu einer Theorie der Gerechtigkeit, die auf dem Prinzip der „Differenz ohne Herrschaft“ beruht. Im Lichte dieses Prinzips können Probleme des sozialen Zusammenhalts innerhalb Europas produktiv angegangen werden.

In diesem Sinne lädt der Open Call Künstler_innen ein, die kulturelle Zusammensetzung einer europäischen Lebenswirklichkeit anzuerkennen und sich eine Utopie für Europa, die eine Vielzahl von Perspektiven zulässt vorzustellen. Wir bitten um Ihre Gedanken und künstlerischen Beiträge, mit dem Fokus die transnationalen Verbindungen, die ein prägendes Merkmal des heutigen Europas sind, weiter zu betonen, zu hinterfragen oder zu stärken. Der Open Call will die politische und soziale Bedeutung einer pluralistischen Gesellschaft neu ausloten und plädiert dafür, den Transnationalismus systematischer in die Zukunftsvorstellung Europas einzubeziehen. Die Beiträge sollen eine Vielfalt europäischer Utopien sichtbar machen: Was ist Dein Europa? Ist es eine Utopie oder Realität? Wo siehst Du dich selbst vertreten?

Für eine Veröffentlichung sind die inhaltliche Relevanz sowie die digitale Qualität für die digitale Verwertbarkeit Voraussetzung. Alle Beiträge werden über die Plattform nextmuseum.io und über die HALLE FÜR KUNST Steiermark-Website sowie im Foyer der Institution online zugänglich sein. Im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung werden ausgewählte Beiträge vorgestellt und nach Möglichkeit mit Protagonisten_innen, die nach Graz eingeladen werden diskutiert.

Die Einreichungen werden redaktionell gesichtet und erst danach online gestellt. Das Redaktionsteam behält sich vor nicht passende Beiträge ohne Begründung nicht zu berücksichtigen.

Einreichungen

Who is afraid of Red, Yellow and Blue (My world order)
  • Gemälde
  • Installation

Who is afraid of Red, Yellow and Blue (My world order)

Elena Kaludova

Stierkopf & Maske
  • Gemälde
  • Video
  • Zeichnung

Stierkopf & Maske

Nadine Arbeiter

Die Entdeckung Europas
  • Digital art
  • Digitale Kunst
  • Video

Die Entdeckung Europas

Sven Piayda

Ringen um Raum
  • Foto
  • Installation
  • Zeichnung

Ringen um Raum

Bea Nielsen

In the end it’s all about the money
  • Mixed Media

In the end it’s all about the money

Nika Rukavina

ARCHEOLOGIES OF THE FICTION STORIES
  • Installation
  • Mixed Media
  • Video

ARCHEOLOGIES OF THE FICTION STORIES

pawel mendrek

„Pieta over my crying passports“
  • Foto
  • Mixed Media
  • Text

„Pieta over my crying passports“

Aida Kožar Prenzel

Texture Gaps: The Semiotics of the Pandemic in Warsaw’s Urban Spaces.
  • Foto

Texture Gaps: The Semiotics of the Pandemic in Warsaw’s Urban Spaces.

Bohdan Pylypushko

Viscosity
  • Foto
  • Installation
  • Mixed Media

Viscosity

Mónika Üveges

Spirited hunting
  • Gemälde

Spirited hunting

Herman Ssebuliba

Villager Antivirus
  • Design
  • Installation
  • Mixed Media

Villager Antivirus

Andrej Polukord

THE RAW LIFESTYLE OF HOSTEL  DWELLERS
  • Foto

THE RAW LIFESTYLE OF HOSTEL DWELLERS

Mpumelelo Buthelezi

Legitimate values: reconstructing resentments in the meantime
  • Gemälde
  • Mixed Media
  • Text

Legitimate values: reconstructing resentments in the meantime

Bohdan Pylypushko

”The body object, ecology of the art”
  • Foto
  • Video

”The body object, ecology of the art”

Liza Osepaishvili-Nemtsova

Europapa
  • Video

Europapa

Kuesti

vsbl
  • Digitale Kunst
  • Installation
  • Mixed Media

vsbl

Anne Barth

Yesterday is a history, tommorow is a future.Here and now.
  • Gemälde

Yesterday is a history, tommorow is a future.Here and now.

Bartosz Fraczek

Deep Interview
  • Installation
  • Text
  • Video

Deep Interview

Susanna Schoenberg

The transcendence of a hypothetical landscape
  • Gemälde

The transcendence of a hypothetical landscape

Maria Vyrra

Europa III
  • Foto
  • Text
  • Zeichnung

Europa III

Roland Scheel-Rübsam

Acrobatic Painting
  • Gemälde
  • Installation
  • Text

Acrobatic Painting

Sylvain Gelewski

„My Europe. Be free for art“ painting exhibition
  • Gemälde

„My Europe. Be free for art“ painting exhibition

Maciej Hoffman

European Integration
  • Gemälde

European Integration

Madeleina Kay

FLOWERS
  • Digital art
  • Mixed Media

FLOWERS

Ryan Blackwell

Manfred Weber
  • Sound
  • Video

Manfred Weber

Jonas Höschl

EUROPE IS LOST
  • Installation
  • Mixed Media
  • Sound

EUROPE IS LOST

Jonas Höschl

IN-TRANSIT
  • Video

IN-TRANSIT

Benjamin F. Stumpf

Die Sache mit Europa. Mythos und andere Wirklichkeiten.
  • Foto
  • Gemälde

Die Sache mit Europa. Mythos und andere Wirklichkeiten.

Wilma Seitinger

Diskutiere mit!

Dein News-Update: Erhalte Infos zu kommenden Online-Talks, neuen Ausstellungsprojekten und diskutiere mit uns in der nextmuseum.io-Telegram-Gruppe: