• Exhibition

Room Of One’s Own Part 2

  • Conceptual Art
  • Digital-Art
  • Mixed reality

From November 19, 2021 to March 5, 2022, Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle Munich presents the group exhibition “Room of One’s Own” in two parts.

“Nevertheless, I believe that this poetess, who never wrote a word and was buried at a crossroad, is still alive. (…) She lives in you, in me and in many other women who are not here today. Yes, she lives. For true women poets do not die.” — Virginia Woolf. A Room of One’s Own. 1929

The exhibition is based on the narrative of the well-known novel by Virginia Woolf, which became a standard read of the women’s movement in the 1970s. As a young woman, Virginia Woolf was subjected to the conditions of Victorian society, which provided only a very very narrow sphere of activity and development for women. Even today, her novel is particularly relevant, opening up a universal discussion about the need for a space for creation, for stillness and, of course, for art. In our group exhibition, we present the work of a variety of outstanding women artists who approach their work in relation to science, history and literature, shaping the course of art history.

“Room of One’s Own Part 2”, the continuation of the currently running exhibition at Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle in Munich, includes not only physical works by female artists, but expands into the field of digital art.

Parallel to the physical exhibition in the gallery, we will show digital works in the form of NFTs from January, 20 2022. The NFTs will be presented either on a new startup platform or the NFT marketplace OpenSea. Minting (technical/organizational process to create NFTs for selected digital works) is handled by Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle.

This Open Call is aimed at female digital artists. Our goal is to support female artists in the digital art scene and to include them in the context of the gallery. Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle has been representing positions of conceptual content since 1968. Also for the exhibition “Room of One’s Own Part 2” digital works are preferred, which deal with a (social, political, historical or even scientific) context and lead to theoretical discussions.

Participate

Curator

Sofia Sominsky

Institution

Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle
Sofia Sominsky

From November 19, 2021 to March 5, 2022, Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle Munich presents the group exhibition “Room of One’s Own” in two parts.

“Nevertheless, I believe that this poetess, who never wrote a word and was buried at a crossroad, is still alive. (…) She lives in you, in me and in many other women who are not here today. Yes, she lives. For true women poets do not die.” — Virginia Woolf. A Room of One’s Own. 1929

The exhibition is based on the narrative of the well-known novel by Virginia Woolf, which became a standard read of the women’s movement in the 1970s. As a young woman, Virginia Woolf was subjected to the conditions of Victorian society, which provided only a very very narrow sphere of activity and development for women. Even today, her novel is particularly relevant, opening up a universal discussion about the need for a space for creation, for stillness and, of course, for art. In our group exhibition, we present the work of a variety of outstanding women artists who approach their work in relation to science, history and literature, shaping the course of art history.

“Room of One’s Own Part 2”, the continuation of the currently running exhibition at Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle in Munich, includes not only physical works by female artists, but expands into the field of digital art.

Parallel to the physical exhibition in the gallery, we will show digital works in the form of NFTs from January, 20 2022. The NFTs will be presented either on a new startup platform or the NFT marketplace OpenSea. Minting (technical/organizational process to create NFTs for selected digital works) is handled by Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle.

This Open Call is aimed at female digital artists. Our goal is to support female artists in the digital art scene and to include them in the context of the gallery. Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle has been representing positions of conceptual content since 1968. Also for the exhibition “Room of One’s Own Part 2” digital works are preferred, which deal with a (social, political, historical or even scientific) context and lead to theoretical discussions.

Join the discussion

Get notified about upcoming webinars, incoming submissions and discuss projects with our curators in the official nextmuseum.io telegram group.

t.me/nextmuseum_io

• Ausstellung

Room Of One’s Own Part 2

  • Digital-Art
  • Konzeptkunst
  • Mixed reality

Vom 19. November 2021 bis zum 5. März 2022 zeigt die Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle München die Gruppenausstellung „Room of One’s Own“ in zwei Parts.

„Dennoch glaube ich, dass diese Dichterin, die nie ein Wort geschrieben hat und an einer Kreuzung begraben wurde, noch lebt. (…) Sie lebt in Ihnen, in mir und in vielen anderen Frauen, die heute nicht hier sind. Ja, sie lebt. Denn wahre Dichterinnen sterben nicht.“ — Virginia Woolf. A Room of One’s Own. 1929

Die Ausstellung basiert auf der Erzählung des bekannten Romans von Virginia Woolf, der in den 1970er Jahren zu einer Standardlektüre der Frauenbewegung wurde. Als junge Frau war Virginia Woolf den Bedingungen der viktorianischen Gesellschaft unterworfen, die den Frauen nur einen sehr engen Handlungs- und Entfaltungsspielraum bot. Ihr Roman ist auch heute von besonderer Aktualität, da er eine universelle Diskussion über die Notwendigkeit eines Raums für die Schöpfung, für die Stille und natürlich für die Kunst anstößt. In unserer Gruppenausstellung präsentieren wir die Arbeiten einer Reihe herausragender Künstlerinnen, die sich in ihrer Arbeit mit Wissenschaft, Geschichte und Literatur auseinandersetzen und damit die Kunstgeschichte prägen.

„Room of One’s Own II“, die Fortsetzung der aktuell laufenden Ausstellung in der Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle in München, umfasst nicht nur physische Arbeiten von Künstlerinnen, sondern expandiert auf das Gebiet der digitalen Kunst.

Parallel zur physischen Ausstellung in der Galerie, zeigen wir ab 20.01.2022 digitale Arbeiten in Form von NFTs. Präsentiert werden die NFTs entweder auf einer neuen Startup-Plattform oder dem NFT-Markplatz OpenSea. Um das Minting (technischer/organisatorischer Prozess, um NFTs für ausgewählte digitale Arbeiten zu erstellen) kümmert sich die Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle.

Dieser Open Call richtet sich an Digitalkünstlerinnen. Unser Ziel ist es, Künstlerinnen in der digitalen Kunstszene zu unterstützen und sie in den Kontext der Galerie miteinzubeziehen. Seit 1968 vertritt Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle Positionen konzeptueller Inhalte. Auch für die Ausstellung „Room of One’s Own Part 2“ werden digitale Arbeiten bevorzugt, welche sich mit einem (sozialen, politischen, historischen oder auch wissenschaftlichen) Kontext befassen und zu theoretischen Auseinandersetzungen führen.

Sei dabei!

Kurator*in

Sofia Sominsky

Institution

Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle
Sofia Sominsky

Vom 19. November 2021 bis zum 5. März 2022 zeigt die Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle München die Gruppenausstellung „Room of One’s Own“ in zwei Parts.

„Dennoch glaube ich, dass diese Dichterin, die nie ein Wort geschrieben hat und an einer Kreuzung begraben wurde, noch lebt. (…) Sie lebt in Ihnen, in mir und in vielen anderen Frauen, die heute nicht hier sind. Ja, sie lebt. Denn wahre Dichterinnen sterben nicht.“ — Virginia Woolf. A Room of One’s Own. 1929

Die Ausstellung basiert auf der Erzählung des bekannten Romans von Virginia Woolf, der in den 1970er Jahren zu einer Standardlektüre der Frauenbewegung wurde. Als junge Frau war Virginia Woolf den Bedingungen der viktorianischen Gesellschaft unterworfen, die den Frauen nur einen sehr engen Handlungs- und Entfaltungsspielraum bot. Ihr Roman ist auch heute von besonderer Aktualität, da er eine universelle Diskussion über die Notwendigkeit eines Raums für die Schöpfung, für die Stille und natürlich für die Kunst anstößt. In unserer Gruppenausstellung präsentieren wir die Arbeiten einer Reihe herausragender Künstlerinnen, die sich in ihrer Arbeit mit Wissenschaft, Geschichte und Literatur auseinandersetzen und damit die Kunstgeschichte prägen.

„Room of One’s Own II“, die Fortsetzung der aktuell laufenden Ausstellung in der Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle in München, umfasst nicht nur physische Arbeiten von Künstlerinnen, sondern expandiert auf das Gebiet der digitalen Kunst.

Parallel zur physischen Ausstellung in der Galerie, zeigen wir ab 20.01.2022 digitale Arbeiten in Form von NFTs. Präsentiert werden die NFTs entweder auf einer neuen Startup-Plattform oder dem NFT-Markplatz OpenSea. Um das Minting (technischer/organisatorischer Prozess, um NFTs für ausgewählte digitale Arbeiten zu erstellen) kümmert sich die Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle.

Dieser Open Call richtet sich an Digitalkünstlerinnen. Unser Ziel ist es, Künstlerinnen in der digitalen Kunstszene zu unterstützen und sie in den Kontext der Galerie miteinzubeziehen. Seit 1968 vertritt Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle Positionen konzeptueller Inhalte. Auch für die Ausstellung „Room of One’s Own Part 2“ werden digitale Arbeiten bevorzugt, welche sich mit einem (sozialen, politischen, historischen oder auch wissenschaftlichen) Kontext befassen und zu theoretischen Auseinandersetzungen führen.

Diskutiere mit!

Dein News-Update: Erhalte Infos zu kommenden Online-Talks, neuen Ausstellungsprojekten und diskutiere mit uns in der nextmuseum.io-Telegram-Gruppe: