Sandrine Deumier: „Realness – Intimate Garden“, 2019
  • Exhibition

Welcome to Heaven

  • NRW-Forum Düsseldorf
  • Open Call 01.07.-05.08.2020
Image: Sandrine Deumier: „Realness – Intimate Garden“, 2019

The world is changing: the boundaries between synthetic and organic life, between civilisation and nature, between human and humanised technology are dissolving. On the one hand, we are currently experiencing catastrophic climate change, the spread of diseases across countries and continents, a threatening loss of biodiversity and extreme species decline, growing populism and right-wing terrorism. On the other hand, a new narrative is emerging: a technology that is quasi-religiously declared to be a saviour, a promise of a better world, a belief in artificial intelligence, immortality in digital space and a virtual paradise. Humans create new digital spaces for dreams and utopias. But the dream landscape can also become a nightmare. And new questions arise: How does technology change our consciousness, for example? What does it mean to be human – in emotional reaction and artistic expression?

Above all, we are still looking for extraordinary, absurd, comical or even impossible works that question society’s collective wishes and dreams and their transformation in the form of fears. Using various media (VR, AR, algorithmic art as well as videos and mixed media installations) the exhibition tries to turn to technologies as mystical shamanistic tools, to challenge the emotional state of the visitors and to rebel against techno-scepticism. “Welcome to Heaven” looks for dystopian and psychedelic works that fit into the narrative structure of the exhibition.

The exhibition project “Welcome to Heaven” is an experiment, an immersive and interactive staging. The NRW-Forum takes the visitors into a transmedia art trail on more than 1200 square meters, with art installations, video and music productions and virtual realities. The exhibition, situated between dystopia and utopia, takes visitors into fictional worlds, into a unique art experience with portals to magical worlds, full of fascinating works, surreal secret passages and mystical discoveries.

Participate

The world is changing: the boundaries between synthetic and organic life, between civilisation and nature, between human and humanised technology are dissolving. On the one hand, we are currently experiencing catastrophic climate change, the spread of diseases across countries and continents, a threatening loss of biodiversity and extreme species decline, growing populism and right-wing terrorism. On the other hand, a new narrative is emerging: a technology that is quasi-religiously declared to be a saviour, a promise of a better world, a belief in artificial intelligence, immortality in digital space and a virtual paradise. Humans create new digital spaces for dreams and utopias. But the dream landscape can also become a nightmare. And new questions arise: How does technology change our consciousness, for example? What does it mean to be human – in emotional reaction and artistic expression?

Above all, we are still looking for extraordinary, absurd, comical or even impossible works that question society’s collective wishes and dreams and their transformation in the form of fears. Using various media (VR, AR, algorithmic art as well as videos and mixed media installations) the exhibition tries to turn to technologies as mystical shamanistic tools, to challenge the emotional state of the visitors and to rebel against techno-scepticism. “Welcome to Heaven” looks for dystopian and psychedelic works that fit into the narrative structure of the exhibition.

The exhibition project “Welcome to Heaven” is an experiment, an immersive and interactive staging. The NRW-Forum takes the visitors into a transmedia art trail on more than 1200 square meters, with art installations, video and music productions and virtual realities. The exhibition, situated between dystopia and utopia, takes visitors into fictional worlds, into a unique art experience with portals to magical worlds, full of fascinating works, surreal secret passages and mystical discoveries.

Submissions

MutaGen977C2710E4884F1403AE
  • Digital art

MutaGen977C2710E4884F1403AE

Sofia Talanti

RUGGED
  • Mixed Media

RUGGED

Janosch Boerckel

Quirky Chance
  • Video

Quirky Chance

Stella Kalafati

Hexagonia – eine paradiesische, virtuelle Cyber-Kunst-Installation
  • VR

Hexagonia – eine paradiesische, virtuelle Cyber-Kunst-Installation

Asmita Duranjaya

Raum – Zeit – Gewebe
  • Foto
  • Mixed Media

Raum – Zeit – Gewebe

Sissy Schneider

Erzengel
  • Mixed Media

Erzengel

Peter Philips

Insel der Zuversicht
  • Mixed Media

Insel der Zuversicht

Peter Philips

Insel der Geborgenheit
  • Mixed Media

Insel der Geborgenheit

Peter Philips

FICTION
  • digitale art
  • post internet
  • VR

FICTION

Farina Hamann

Searching for Meaning
  • Digital art
  • digitale art
  • post internet

Searching for Meaning

Scott Conrad Kelly

The Pool of Reality
  • Digital art
  • post internet
  • Sound

The Pool of Reality

Jeesoo Hong

Hope
  • Mixed Media
  • Sound

Hope

Ksenia Kuprina

Signs of the Times
  • Digital art
  • post internet

Signs of the Times

Scott Conrad Kelly

From personality to color
  • Video

From personality to color

Dmitrii Khramov

Body Mikrochips
  • Foto

Body Mikrochips

Goran Michael Vukusic

palms_and_skys
  • Digital art

palms_and_skys

Malte van de Water

Room of Recollection
  • Digital art

Room of Recollection

Ulrich Osterloh

We Give A Body To Devil For Dinner vol. 2, 2009, 8mm b/n muto 9'59" su DVD (ed. 3)
  • Video

We Give A Body To Devil For Dinner vol. 2, 2009, 8mm b/n muto 9'59" su DVD (ed. 3)

Ivan Piano

licht
  • Mixed Media

licht

Hyukjun Kwon

Just for once let me look on you with my own eyes
  • Video

Just for once let me look on you with my own eyes

David Amberg

demon checkin in on me
  • Mixed Media

demon checkin in on me

laurent pellissier

Surrounded by Promises of the Whatever
  • Foto
  • Mixed Media

Surrounded by Promises of the Whatever

Maximilian Fallmeier

Hybride
  • Digital art
  • Foto
  • post internet

Hybride

Victoria Pidust

Handschmeichler
  • Mixed Media

Handschmeichler

Elisabeth Eberle

Divine Mirage
  • Mixed Media
  • post internet

Divine Mirage

Laura Zoe Tilstra

Metamorphose
  • Mixed Media
  • post internet

Metamorphose

Volo

Gebetsbilder
  • Mixed Media
  • Video

Gebetsbilder

Jana Zatvarnická

Microscopic Digitalism
  • Digital art

Microscopic Digitalism

Alana Naumann

Place of the future
  • Digital art
  • digitale art
  • VR

Place of the future

Jessica Krienke

Yes, We Tan!
  • Mixed Media

Yes, We Tan!

Alejandra Baltazares

Comments

  • I am trying for the 10th time to submit my artwork, each time I see a red message stating that “Additional Info value is maximum 4000 characters” & “Text value is maximum 4000 characters” – but I am sure that both of information that I provide have fewer characters than 4000. I don’t understand what is going on with the submission form. I even tried to submit it from different browsers and still, it doesn’t work. Can you help me with that? Or can you provide an email address and I will send you all the information, links, and images to consider my project at the open call? I would really appreciate that!

    Filip
  • Hey Jana,
    please use the “submit artwork”-button for the open call.
    You can also include a link to your pdf file under “further information”.
    Best

    Alina Fuchte
  • Hey, can I send you my pdf files about my work also through Wetransfer? Can you write me please, on which email I can send it? Thank you!

    Jana Zatvarnicka

Join the discussion

Get notified about upcoming webinars, incoming submissions and discuss projects with our curators in the official nextmuseum.io telegram group.

t.me/nextmuseum_io

Sandrine Deumier: „Realness – Intimate Garden“, 2019
  • Ausstellung

Willkommen im Paradies

  • NRW-Forum Düsseldorf
  • Open Call 1.7.-5.8.2020
Bild: Sandrine Deumier: „Realness – Intimate Garden“, 2019

Die Welt im Wandel: Die Grenzen zwischen synthetischem und organischem Leben, zwischen Zivilisation und Natur, zwischen Mensch und vermenschlichter Technologie lösen sich auf. Auf der einen Seite erleben wir gerade einen katastrophalen Klimawandel, länder- und kontinentübergreifende Ausbreitungen von Krankheiten, einen bedrohlichen Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt und extremen Artenrückgang, einen erstarkenden Populismus und neuen Rechtsterrorismus. Auf der anderen Seite entsteht gerade ein neues Narrativ: Eine Technologie, die quasireligiös zum Heilsbringer erklärt wird, ein Versprechen auf eine bessere Welt, ein Glaube an künstliche Intelligenzen, an die Unsterblichkeit im digitalen Raum und ein virtuelles Paradies. Der Mensch erschafft sich neue digitale Räume für Träume und Utopien. Aber die Traumlandschaft kann auch zu einem Albtraum werden. Und es stellen sich neue Fragen: Wie verändert die Technologie zum Beispiel unser Bewusstsein? Was bedeutet es menschlich zu sein – in emotionaler Reaktion und künstlerischem Ausdruck?

Vor allem suchen wir noch außergewöhnliche, absurde, komische oder sogar unmögliche Werke, die die kollektiven Wünsche und Träume der Gesellschaft sowie ihre Transformation in Form von Ängsten in Frage stellen. Unter Verwendung verschiedener Medien (VR, AR, algorithmische Kunst sowie Videos und Mixed-Media-Installationen) versucht die Ausstellung, sich den Technologien als mystischen schamanistischen Werkzeugen zuzuwenden, den emotionalen Zustand der Besucher*innen herauszufordern und sich gegen Techno-Skepsis aufzulehnen. “Willkommen im Paradies“ sucht nach dystopischen und psychedelischen Werken, die sich in die narrative Struktur der Ausstellung einfügen.

Das Ausstellungsprojekt “Willkommen im Paradies” ist ein Experiment, eine immersive und interaktive Inszenierung. Das NRW-Forum entführt die Besucher*innen in einen transmedialen Medienkunst-Parcours auf über 1200 Quadratmetern, mit Kunstinstallationen, Video- und Musikproduktionen und virtuellen Realitäten. Die Ausstellung, angelegt zwischen Dystopie und Utopie, entführt die Besucher*innen in fiktive Welten, in ein einzigartiges Kunsterlebnis mit Portalen zu magischen Welten, voller faszinierender Werke, surrealer Geheimgänge und mystischer Entdeckungen.

Sei dabei!

Die Welt im Wandel: Die Grenzen zwischen synthetischem und organischem Leben, zwischen Zivilisation und Natur, zwischen Mensch und vermenschlichter Technologie lösen sich auf. Auf der einen Seite erleben wir gerade einen katastrophalen Klimawandel, länder- und kontinentübergreifende Ausbreitungen von Krankheiten, einen bedrohlichen Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt und extremen Artenrückgang, einen erstarkenden Populismus und neuen Rechtsterrorismus. Auf der anderen Seite entsteht gerade ein neues Narrativ: Eine Technologie, die quasireligiös zum Heilsbringer erklärt wird, ein Versprechen auf eine bessere Welt, ein Glaube an künstliche Intelligenzen, an die Unsterblichkeit im digitalen Raum und ein virtuelles Paradies. Der Mensch erschafft sich neue digitale Räume für Träume und Utopien. Aber die Traumlandschaft kann auch zu einem Albtraum werden. Und es stellen sich neue Fragen: Wie verändert die Technologie zum Beispiel unser Bewusstsein? Was bedeutet es menschlich zu sein – in emotionaler Reaktion und künstlerischem Ausdruck?

Vor allem suchen wir noch außergewöhnliche, absurde, komische oder sogar unmögliche Werke, die die kollektiven Wünsche und Träume der Gesellschaft sowie ihre Transformation in Form von Ängsten in Frage stellen. Unter Verwendung verschiedener Medien (VR, AR, algorithmische Kunst sowie Videos und Mixed-Media-Installationen) versucht die Ausstellung, sich den Technologien als mystischen schamanistischen Werkzeugen zuzuwenden, den emotionalen Zustand der Besucher*innen herauszufordern und sich gegen Techno-Skepsis aufzulehnen. “Willkommen im Paradies“ sucht nach dystopischen und psychedelischen Werken, die sich in die narrative Struktur der Ausstellung einfügen.

Das Ausstellungsprojekt “Willkommen im Paradies” ist ein Experiment, eine immersive und interaktive Inszenierung. Das NRW-Forum entführt die Besucher*innen in einen transmedialen Medienkunst-Parcours auf über 1200 Quadratmetern, mit Kunstinstallationen, Video- und Musikproduktionen und virtuellen Realitäten. Die Ausstellung, angelegt zwischen Dystopie und Utopie, entführt die Besucher*innen in fiktive Welten, in ein einzigartiges Kunsterlebnis mit Portalen zu magischen Welten, voller faszinierender Werke, surrealer Geheimgänge und mystischer Entdeckungen.

Kunstwerke

MutaGen977C2710E4884F1403AE
  • Digital art

MutaGen977C2710E4884F1403AE

Sofia Talanti

RUGGED
  • Mixed Media

RUGGED

Janosch Boerckel

Quirky Chance
  • Video

Quirky Chance

Stella Kalafati

Hexagonia – eine paradiesische, virtuelle Cyber-Kunst-Installation
  • VR

Hexagonia – eine paradiesische, virtuelle Cyber-Kunst-Installation

Asmita Duranjaya

Raum – Zeit – Gewebe
  • Foto
  • Mixed Media

Raum – Zeit – Gewebe

Sissy Schneider

Erzengel
  • Mixed Media

Erzengel

Peter Philips

Insel der Zuversicht
  • Mixed Media

Insel der Zuversicht

Peter Philips

Insel der Geborgenheit
  • Mixed Media

Insel der Geborgenheit

Peter Philips

FICTION
  • Digitale Kunst
  • post internet
  • VR

FICTION

Farina Hamann

Searching for Meaning
  • Digital art
  • Digitale Kunst
  • post internet

Searching for Meaning

Scott Conrad Kelly

The Pool of Reality
  • Digital art
  • post internet
  • Sound

The Pool of Reality

Jeesoo Hong

Hope
  • Mixed Media
  • Sound

Hope

Ksenia Kuprina

Signs of the Times
  • Digital art
  • post internet

Signs of the Times

Scott Conrad Kelly

From personality to color
  • Video

From personality to color

Dmitrii Khramov

Body Mikrochips
  • Foto

Body Mikrochips

Goran Michael Vukusic

palms_and_skys
  • Digital art

palms_and_skys

Malte van de Water

Room of Recollection
  • Digital art

Room of Recollection

Ulrich Osterloh

We Give A Body To Devil For Dinner vol. 2, 2009, 8mm b/n muto 9'59" su DVD (ed. 3)
  • Video

We Give A Body To Devil For Dinner vol. 2, 2009, 8mm b/n muto 9'59" su DVD (ed. 3)

Ivan Piano

licht
  • Mixed Media

licht

Hyukjun Kwon

Just for once let me look on you with my own eyes
  • Video

Just for once let me look on you with my own eyes

David Amberg

demon checkin in on me
  • Mixed Media

demon checkin in on me

laurent pellissier

Surrounded by Promises of the Whatever
  • Foto
  • Mixed Media

Surrounded by Promises of the Whatever

Maximilian Fallmeier

Hybride
  • Digital art
  • Foto
  • post internet

Hybride

Victoria Pidust

Handschmeichler
  • Mixed Media

Handschmeichler

Elisabeth Eberle

Divine Mirage
  • Mixed Media
  • post internet

Divine Mirage

Laura Zoe Tilstra

Metamorphose
  • Mixed Media
  • post internet

Metamorphose

Volo

Gebetsbilder
  • Mixed Media
  • Video

Gebetsbilder

Jana Zatvarnická

Microscopic Digitalism
  • Digital art

Microscopic Digitalism

Alana Naumann

Place of the future
  • Digital art
  • Digitale Kunst
  • VR

Place of the future

Jessica Krienke

Yes, We Tan!
  • Mixed Media

Yes, We Tan!

Alejandra Baltazares

Kommentare

  • I am trying for the 10th time to submit my artwork, each time I see a red message stating that „Additional Info value is maximum 4000 characters“ & „Text value is maximum 4000 characters“ – but I am sure that both of information that I provide have fewer characters than 4000. I don’t understand what is going on with the submission form. I even tried to submit it from different browsers and still, it doesn’t work. Can you help me with that? Or can you provide an email address and I will send you all the information, links, and images to consider my project at the open call? I would really appreciate that!

    Filip
  • Hey Jana,
    please use the „submit artwork“-button for the open call.
    You can also include a link to your pdf file under “further information”.
    Best

    Alina Fuchte
  • Hey, can I send you my pdf files about my work also through Wetransfer? Can you write me please, on which email I can send it? Thank you!

    Jana Zatvarnicka

Diskutiere mit!

Dein News-Update: Erhalte Infos zu kommenden Online-Talks, neuen Ausstellungsprojekten und diskutiere mit uns in der nextmuseum.io-Telegram-Gruppe: